Internal‎ > ‎

Bulk Delete

To delete records in bulk from the Enrollment Manager interface users can either select them ( up to 250 at a time) then delete them page by page, or use the Bulk Delete tool. The Bulk Delete tool allows users to create and execute a Bulk Delete job that will identify and delete records from the database.  Users should exercise great caution when using Bulk Delete as this process permanently deletes records from the Enrollment Manager database.
 
NOTE: Users must have specific account permissions in order to set up and run a Bulk Delete job.

Creating a Bulk Delete job:

  1. Create an Advanced Find to identify records that should be deleted. Thoroughly review results to make sure that only the desired records are returned.  
  2.  Launch the Bulk Delete Wizard, follow the prompts and submit the bulk delete job.
  3. Once the job has been submitted, it can be monitored in the Systems Jobs area which RuffaloCODY staff can access.
  4. As with all system jobs, a Bulk Delete job will run as resources are available. RuffaloCODY staff may be to cancel the job if it has not already been started. If the job is already underway, it may be cancelled but some of the records may have already been deleted.  
  5. Deleting records in this manner also deletes any “child” or related records.

 The Bulk Delete Wizard
From any menu that has a delete option there will be also be a drop-down  menu item that allows the user to launch the Bulk Delete wizard. Select that option to launch the Bulk Delete Wizard then follow the prompts through each section of the Wizard as described below.

Define Search Criteria: Use a previously created Advanced Find, or define the criteria on the fly. Select Preview Records to confirm that the criteria is returning the desired records.

Select Options: Specify the name of the bulk deletion system job and indicate scheduling and notification options:

Name – This refers to the Job Name and will be useful when monitoring the progress of the job in the System Jobs area. By default the Job Name will be “Bulk Deletion” followed by the date and time. The user can edit this field if desired.

Bulk Deletion Job Start – Will default to the current date and time. This field can be edited as desired.

Run this job after every X days  -  If the box is checked, allows the user to set a recurrence schedule for the job to run.

Email Notification – If the box is checked, the system will automatically send an email to the current user upon completion of  the job. The user can specify if they wish another user to be notified.

Review and Submission: Review of a summary of job options, including Advanced Find criteria and submit the job. Note: Only records that are in the system at the time the job is scheduled to run will be deleted. 

System Bulk Delete Jobs

Within each instance of Enrollment Manager, there may be standard Bulk Delete jobs that have been deployed. These jobs follow the same conditions as an ad hoc job (criteria, schedule, etc). As of this writing, these are the jobs

 
 Job Name
 Purpose Entity Criteria Schedule
 Delete Completed System Jobs Delete certain types of system jobs that are older than a month.

 

System Jobs
  • Status = Completed
  • Status Reason = Succeeded
  • Completed on Date is Older than 1 Month
  • System Job Type does not equal Bulk Email or Import Subprocess or Workflow
Daily after midnight EST
 Delete Duplicate ActivitiesDelete Activities that have the 'To Be Deleted' flag (not visible in the interface) set to Yes. This bulk delete job is one of two processes used to identify and remove duplicate Activities. Task 'To Be Deleted' = YesDaily at 5:30 am EST

Comments