Email Scheduling

Email messages can be scheduled to send immediately or at any point in the future.

Send Immediately

By clicking Send Immediately, the message and appropriate Outreach List information will begin transmitting immediately to our processing servers. Once the records are transmitted, the message is marked as Scheduled while messages are sending. At this point the Outreach List will be cleared and the appropriate activity will be posted. Once all messages are delivered, your message status will change to Sent. Using this option, your message have the following Status at various points:
  • Draft: Message not yet scheduled or Sent
  • Processing: Data is being processed to prepare for sending
  • Scheduled: All data is processed and this message is ready to send immediately
  • Sent: All processing and sending is complete

Send Later (Transmit Now)

By clicking Send Later, the message and appropriate Outreach List information will be transmitted immediately to our processing servers and scheduled for delivery on the date and time you have selected. Once all data is ready for delivery on our processing servers, the status of the message will change to 'Scheduled'. At this point the Outreach List will be cleared and the appropriate activity will be posted. At delivery time, your message status will change to Sent. Using this option, your message have the following Status at various points:
  • Draft: Message not yet scheduled or Sent
  • Processing: Data is being processed to prepare for sending
  • Scheduled: All data is processed and this message is ready to send at the selected time
  • Sent: All processing and sending is complete
Note: To ensure the best possible performance within Enrollment Manager, data is sent to our processing servers in batches. This process is throttled based on the level of activity within your Enrollment Manager system and could take several hours depending on the size of your Outreach List. This is important to know for planning purposes if the time of delivery is critical. Once the data is fully transmitted to our delivery servers, the actual delivery time is very fast (typically within minutes of your scheduled time). For instance, if you have a mailing going to 50,000 students that needs to go out at 5PM, you should create and schedule your message a few hours before 5PM. Once all data is transmitted, it will wait until the 5PM delivery time and send all messages within a few minutes.

Send Later (Transmit Later)

On your Message record, you'll see an option to Delay List Synchronization. This allows you to schedule a message in the future, and have the system wait until the scheduled time before transmitting any data from Enrollment Manager. This allows you to schedule a message for next week, but continue to add/remove members from the Outreach List. Using this option, your message have the following Status at various points:
  • Draft: Message not yet scheduled or Sent
  • Scheduled - Pending Sync: Message is scheduled to sync data and send at the time indicated
  • Processing: Data is being processed to prepare for sending
  • Scheduled: All data is processed and this message is ready to send immediately
  • Sent: All processing and sending is complete
This feature also allows you to add or remove records in an Outreach List even though the message is already scheduled. Or, you can schedule a series of messages and let workflow manage the add/remove process prior to the scheduled send.
Note: Using the Delay List Synchronization option, no processing will occur until the date/time selected on your message. For large lists, this means the actual Send Time will be later than the time you have selected. If you need a message to be sent at a specific time, be sure to schedule the message prior to the time you wish to send.

Cancel a message

Once a message is scheduled, you will see your message in the overview list of Mailings. Select the email message and click on the Cancel Mailing button on the Schedule tab. Your message will be returned to draft status. You have the ability to stop a mailing up to two minutes before the delivery time of your scheduled send. Once the delivery time is reached, data is processed very quickly and the message cannot be cancelled.
 
Emails that have been sent Immediately cannot be cancelled.
 
 
 
Comments